New Jersey statutory rape laws are serious criminal offenses which can result in spending time in prison, registering as a sex offender, and paying steep fines. If you have been charged with statutory rape in New Jersey, contact a New Jersey statutory rape lawyer to review the charges against you. An experienced sex crimes attorney can determine the best legal defenses available to you. Statutory rape is generally defined as sexual activity between someone who is of age and another who is not and therefore legally unable to consent under the law. In New Jersey, that age is However, New Jersey does not have a separate statutory rape criminal charge.
New Jersey Statutory Rape Lawyer | New Jersey Sex Crime Attorney
Sexual violence is any sexual act that is perpetrated against someone's will. Sexual violence in all forms is motivated by power and control. Sexual violence encompasses a range of offenses, including: completed nonconsensual sex act i. The law in New Jersey, which is gender neutral, does not specify male or female, but uses the words "actor" and "victim" to describe the persons involved. The SART uses a team concept in providing the compassionate and all-inclusive medical care, emotional and informative support, along with the gathering of crucial evidence of the sexual assault incident. For the most part and significantly, the SART will help to support victims in order to formulate knowledgeable resolutions concerning their care and healing. The New Jersey State Police does not offer counseling services, however if you have or are experiencing sexual violence, please know there is help and that you are not alone.
New Jersey Statutory Rape Laws
In New Jersey , the age of consent for sexual conduct is 16 years old. This applies to both heterosexual and homosexual conduct. As a general matter, this means that a person who is 16 years old can generally consent to have sex with any adult, regardless of age.
The New Jersey Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in New Jersey are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.